Veteran Rapper Babaluku Celebrated With A Lifetime Achievement Award At The 2023 Uganda Hip-hop Awards; See Full List Of Winners.

The Uganda Hip Hop Awards 2023 edition got the weekend going on Friday June 23, as the biggest names in the game came out to play.

Held at the iconic Motiv in Kampala, the event was a showcase of the immense talent that the country has to offer in the Hip-hop genre.

Babaluku gave an impassioned speech after receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award. Other winners included The Mith who took home the Song of the Year Award

The stage was set for a night of thrilling performances from some of the industry’s biggest names and some emerging talents.

Among the performers were Flex D’Paper, The Mith, Timcence, AJ Stylz as well as the legendary Canada-based rapper Babaluku, who all brought their A-game to the stage.

The night’s highlight was when Babaluku was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.

In his acceptance speech, Babaluku, born Sylas Balabyekkubo, gave a touching message to the young hip hop talents, tipping them to focus on raising their talent without focusing much on money.

“You need to know that when we were coming up, we loved hip-hop before the money came; and we chose our specific paths, depending on our capabilities and capacities. Today I see a lot of you struggling to even understand the worth of your gifts,” he said.

Some of the other big winners of the night included The Mith, who won Song of the Year with Welcome to UG remix, and Flex D’ Rapper who took home the Album of the Year accolade.

Revelers were treated to an open bar by Hennessy, one of the awards sponsors.

“Hennessy supports the HiHop fraternity globally and in Africa, and has gone ahead to do the same in Uganda,” said David Kakonge, the CEO Black Showmans Beverages.

The Hommie was awarded Lyricist of the year for his “Diet Coke Cover”

“As we celebrate HipHop, we would like to communicate to the public that; Hennessy is now in Uganda and our participation at this year’s Uganda HipHop awards is an intentional gesture that we support HipHop as well as the Ugandan entertainment industry.”

Below is the full list of the 2023 Winners (Highlighted) among the nominees

Lifetime Achievement Award

Babaluku (Winner)

Album of the Year
  • Wake – Mwotty
  • Flex D’Paper – Kampala Boy (Winner)
  • Lagum the Rapper – RZR

Song of the Year

  • Flex D’Paper ft. Navio Fik Fameica and Mozelo Kidz – Cheptegei
  • The Mith – Welcome To Ug Remix (Winner)
  • Lagum The Rapper – Location
  • Byg Ben Sukuya ft. Apass – Blessed
  • Lil Ollo – Teli Kuzikiza Remix ft. Feffe Bussi, Navio, Da Agent, and Flex D’Paper

Female Rapper of the Year

  • King Missy
  • Tushi Polo
  • Yala Mc (Winner) 
  • Joyie7star

Male Rapper of the Year

  • Flex D’Paper
  • Wake
  • Fik Fameica (Winner)
  • The Mith

Central Rapper of the year

  • Lyrical G ft. Stone Age Ug – With it With it
  • Lyrical Mycheal – Unmask
  • Zedmonk Ssabatontomi – Time Reveals Talents
  • Kracbone – FIRE FT. Santana Karma, Sliq Teq, Play01, Jhay Efekt, RomanJazzy & LS Andre (Winner) 
  • Lxndxn Gee – Big Moves
  • Feffe Bussi – Gamba Chwii
Northern Rapper of The Year
  • Ecee – Saik
  • Toobi Smolz – Bed Mega
  • Judas rapknowledge Da Akbar – Mung wa
  • Tworthy Wyler – Legendary
  • Timcence – Unthinkable (Winner) 
  • Hell B – Real Friends

Western Rapper of the Year

  • Crazie wispa – Tukahwaamu
  • Momo Mc – Tekaho karadio
  • P.Y.T – Break the cycle
  • Mugabi Byenkya – Philomena’s Voicemail #2
  • Eshata Lookhassle – Kiga flow (Winner)

Eastern Rapper of the Year

  • Triggah – Come Over
  • Mamre Snares -Engarasi ijo
  • Sparo UG – King Of The Streets
  • Lxndxn Gee (London Gee) – Drake Mode
  • AJ Stylz – That’s who we are (Winner)
  • BMG Music – Inside voice

Collaboration of the Year

  • Flex D’paper ft. Navio Fik Fameica And Mozelo Kidz – Cheptegei (Winner)
  • Play01 – Zinge ft. Adrenalyn Muzik
  • Enjiri Ku Street – Entikko ft. Ray MC, St. Ronnie, Chillz Kabejja, Still Breezy
  • Lukas Blacc ft. Likkle Bangi & Lagum The Rapper – One Thing
  • Naxa – Regular day ft. Mal X
  • The Mith ft Giovani Kiyingi, Ebrahim Soul’O & Agami Tonny – Welcome To UG Renix
  • Matt Travers ft Akeine – Over the Moon
  • MTN cypher ft. Ibrahim Solo, Triggah, King Missy, MuTownoh and Matt Travvers – Bikaye
  • Blixxack and Tucker HD – Dotted Lines and Commas

Inspirational song of the Year

  • Enjiri Ku Street – Entikko ft. Ray MC, St. Ronnie, Chillz Kabejja, Still Breezy
  • Lyrical G – Thank You Father
  • 207 – Taasa Omuwala (Winner)
  • Mamre Snares – Street hope
  • Triggah – Uganda
  • Waade FT Sammie Smalls- Let It Go
  • Ronny Rymez – Ghetto Mentality
Lyricist of the Year
  • MooTowNoh – Pound or Shilling (PoS)
  • The Hommie – Diet Coke Cover (Winner)
  • AJO UG – Regicide
  • Joyie7star – Mwanyizabala

African Act of the Year

  • Aka
  • Femi One
  • Nasty C (Winner)
  • Khaligragh Jones
  • K.O
  • Rosa Ree
  • Octopizzo
  • Casspper Nyovest

Sweet 16 (Verse of the Year)

  • MooTowNoh – Pound or Shilling (PoS)
  • Tucker HD – Flex ( By Wake ft. Mal-X Tucker HD & Flex D’Paper)
  • The Hommie – Diet Coke Cover
  • 207 ft. Stayput and L3vo – We Move On
  • Timcence – Quit that game (Winner)
  • St Maxi Mayne – Skilibeng
  • Zedmonk Ssabatontomi – Amazima Agakaawa

Video Of the Year

  • Lagum The Rapper – Some Way
  • Naxa – Awoo
  • The Mith – Welcome To Ug Remix (Winner)
  • Tucker HD – Mind Games
  • Fakher – Whole squad

Mixtape of the Year

  • Mugabi Byenkya – Songs For Wo(Men) 2
  • Starking Boycrak – Sick Trip
  • Ghost Lord – Ghost In The Machine (Winner)

Producer of the Year

  • Mio Made
  • Ledra
  • Waade
  • Baru (Winner)

Rap Fusion of the Year

  • Wake – Muvule
  • Flex D’Paper ft. Apass – Not My Friends
  • Naxa – Milolo
  • Lukas Blacc ft Kohen Jaycee – Byange
  • Bero – Colors Ft The Mith

Rookie of the Year

  • Matt Travers
  • Jungle City
  • Kizzy Rulez (Winner)
  • Lxndxn Gee
  • Thosethatknow
  • Mesh Wanda

DJ of the Year

  • Deejay crim
  • Dj kiro spliff
  • DJ Victor256 (Winner)
  • Neptunez dj
  • Slaughter Elly

Media Personality of the Year

  • Timothy CODE
  • Frank Ntambi (Winner)
  • Still Breezy
  • MC Ollo
  • NuveyShawn


Recommended For You