Govt of Uganda lists countries where you can travel without a Visa

The government of Uganda has listed 40 countries in which you don’t need a Visa to travel. This implies that if your nationality is one of the listed, you don’t need to apply for a Visa for entering in Uganda. This means that also travelers from the listed countries don’t need to apply for a visa to access Uganda.


This equally applies to traveling refugees.In a press statement from the Internal Affairs Ministry released last Friday, several holders of convention travel documents (CTD) have been applying for visas on our system and paying $50 (about Shs.186,000) yet they are from visa-exempt countries. Some are denied the chance to board airlines without visa approvals for Uganda.

It also asserts that this communication serves to inform all stakeholders that visa exemption is on the nationality and not the travel document one holds. This implies that all CTD holders from visa-exempt countries do not need pre-approved visas or authorization.

A convention travel document is issued to refugees who are registered in accordance with the UN convention of refugees and is issued by the respective countries where the individual is a refugee. The nationality of the holder does not cease upon acquisition of a CTD.

Mr. Simon Mundeyi, the spokesperson for Internal Affairs ministry, yesterday said some countries like Iceland have their own requirements. For example, one needs to first book a hotel before traveling.

According to ministry, one will not need to pay $50 to travel to the 40 listed countries.

The nationals of such countries do not need to apply for visas to come to Uganda,” Mr. Mundeyi said.

Here is the full list of countries with Visa exemptions:

Angola, Zambia, Fiji, Botswana, Comoros, Grenada, Ireland, Kenya, Lesotho, South Sudan, Mauritius, Sierra Leone, Eritrea, Malawi, Malaysia, Madagascar, Seychelles, Swaziland, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Antigua, Barbados, Vanuatu, Ghana, Cyprus, Bahamas, Belize, Gambia, Jamaica, Malta, Singapore, St. Vicent-Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, United Nations Laissez-passer, and Solomon Islands, The Grenadines.

Sit back and follow us for more updates!


Recommended For You